COUNTY CLERK OF COURTS
Susan S. Hazel
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Download BMV forms by clicking this link
130 Shady Lane
Norwalk, Ohio 44857
Penalty (30 Day)
Mobile Home Archive Fee
Cancellation of Lien
Section 4505.06 ORC provides that fees
are to be paid by cash, certified check, or money order.
REMEMBER: That the Certificate of Title to your
automobile is similar to the Deed to your real property; take good care
of it. Do not carry your certificate of title on your person or in your
car, keep it in a safe place. It is your only proof of ownership. If you
are in doubt concerning the transferring, buying, selling or mortgaging
of a motor vehicle, always call your Clerk of Courts for complete information.
CROSS COUNTY TITLING
Prior to 2002, automobile and
watercraft titles had to be issued by the
county of residence. This requirement is no longer in place and title
work can now be issued in your county of choice. Huron County
welcomes your business. Your title work benefits our county and we make
every effort to accurately process your titles in a prompt and friendly
manner. If you have any questions about title work not addressed on our
web site, we encourage you to phone our office so that you will have the
necessary information when coming to our office.
Before notarizing any assignment on
titles, the seller is required by law to enter all information, or you
can complete it for them, before it is signed and notarized. Please
note that if the vehicle was jointly owned, both individuals must sign
for the notary.
WHEN YOU BUY A CAR
Never make any alterations or erasures
on a Certificate of Title. If this is done, the title becomes null and
void and a replacement title will have to be obtained. Do not fill in any
part of the assignment or application on the reverse side of the title
unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly
authorized officer with power to administer oaths. All signatures must be
notarized. If two names are to appear on the title, both signatures are
required for all transactions in the State of Ohio. It is required that a
picture I.D. or Ohio Driver's License be presented at the time of
transfer. Your title must be issued within 30 days after the assignment
or you will be subject to a $5.00 late fee. Always check the Serial
Number on the vehicle and make sure it corresponds with the serial number
on your Certificate of Title.
WROS (With Right of Survivorship)
When a title is issued in two names,
WROS will be added to the title.
Transfer on Death (Effective
When a title is issued, you may
designate a beneficiary or beneficiaries. Full legal name, social
security number, address and date of birth is required
WHEN YOU SELL A CAR
Do not execute the assignment on the
reverse side of the Title until a bona fide sale has been made. Seller is
required by law to enter all information, including the true selling
price, odometer reading and purchasers name.
Initials or "nicknames" are not acceptable. Use full legal
If original title is lost, stolen or
destroyed, you may obtain a Duplicate Title. If, after issuance of
Duplicate, the original is recovered, the original must be returned to
the Title Office for cancellation. Bring your registration, or year, make, and serial number in when applying.
A Title is not required on any utility
trailer weighing less than 4,000 pounds. To obtain license plates, get a
weight card from a license bureau and have it weighed.
MOTOR HOMES-TRAVEL TRAILER TRUCK
All are required to be titled. To
convert a van to a motor home or after installation of a camping unit on
your pick-up truck, you must record the "body change" with your
Clerk of Courts. Both titles for the truck camper and pick-up truck must
be presented to issue a new title.
The owner of a mfg. home is required to
obtain a title. All mfg. home titles must have a "tax approval
stamp" from the County Treasurer's office where the mfg. home is
located before transferring. The transfer is done in the same manner as
motor vehicle titles.
OUT OF STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION
Any vehicle transferred from out of
state to an Ohio title must be physically inspected by an authorized new
car dealer in Ohio or any Deputy Registrar.
The customer pays $3.50 fee to the
Inspector and $1.50 at the Title Office.
POWER OF ATTORNEY
No person can sign for you without a
notarized Power of Attorney form. This POA is attached to our files and
becomes a part thereof.
MINOR CONSENT FORM
Minor consent form is required when
buying or selling to be signed by a parent or legal guardian for anyone
under 18 years of age titling a vehicle in their name. I.D.'s are required.
Section 4505.06 ORC requires Ohio sales
tax to be paid to the Clerk of Courts when an application for a Title is
presented. A Use Tax must be paid by a resident of Ohio when he purchases
a vehicle outside the State of Ohio. If tax has been paid out of state at
the time of purchase, the customer must furnish proof of payment with a
bill of sale/receipt. If there is a difference in the tax, only that
amount is due and collected.
When you dismantle, destroy or change
the character of your automobile so that it no longer is a complete
vehicle, you must surrender your Title to the Clerk of Courts for
To convert a salvage title to a regular
title, an inspection must be made by the State Highway Patrol. A fee of
$53.50 is charged. The application for the inspection may be obtained
from the State Highway Patrol Inspection Station.
A memorandum title (white copy) is used
only to purchase license plates. You cannot transfer ownership of an
automobile with a memorandum title.
A surviving spouse may obtain up to two
automobiles with an appraised value of up to $40,000. Also, one boat and
one outboard motor can be transferred upon the death of a spouse. Titles
need not be probated. A motorcycle qualifies as one of the vehicles.
CHANGE OF NAME
If your name is changed through
marriage or court proceedings, the name on your title cannot be changed.
There is no authority in the law to issue a new title in your name, for
the same vehicle.
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
Social Security numbers are required on
all transactions pursuant to section 4505.07 ORC.
WATERCRAFT TITLE INFORMATION
BUYING A BOAT OR MOTOR
A title is required on all boats 14
feet or longer and all outboard motors 10 HP or more. Jet skis and waverunners also now require a title. The
seller is required to provide the buyer of jet
skis and waverunners with a title assigned to
the buyer. Canoes and kayaks are exempt. Before purchasing a
boat, motor, jet ski, or waverunner, be sure the seller has the Certificate of Title.
TRANSFER OF TITLE
Do not accept the titles from the
seller until his/her signature is notarized and assignment is completed.
SELLING A BOAT OR MOTOR
Do not execute the assignment on the
reverse side of the title until a bona fide sale has been made. Make
certain that the buyer’s full name and address is inserted before you
sign the assignment. You must have your signature notarized. If the
title is in two names, the notary must witness both signatures. If
you do not have a title for your boat or motor and purchased it prior to
Oct. 10, 1963, your Clerk of Courts may issue a title to you based on
your registration and sworn statement. If you purchased a jet ski
or waverunner before a title was required, you
must obtain a title and assign that title to the buyer.
Effective July 4, 2002, all watercraft
are required to have a 12-character Hull ID #
before a title can be issued.
If there is no manufacturer's serial
number, or if the manufacturer's serial number has been removed, a serial
number must be affixed to the boat or motor before a title can be issued.
Application for a serial number is made to the Div. of Watercraft. Forms
may be obtained at your County Clerk's office.
Mary Ellen Chapman
PUBLIC SERVICE INFORMATION
Susan S. Hazel
Printer Friendly Page